Welcome
to my
Guestbook
(please sign!)
Notes
What is my
mood today?

Tomorrow?


29 November 2004 - 11:56 pm
 

My lovely Marion has finished her study for the year and now has plenty of spare time on her hands, so she’s reading all my favourite books. She’s a voracious reader— when she was a child her parents told her (falsely) that there was a ten-item limit at the local library. Those of you in Australia (and maybe elsewhere) may remember the MS-Readathon, where children are sponsored to read books in aid of Multiple Sclerosis research. Anyway, one year the young Marion read something like 150 books, withstanding random questioning by her incredulous mother. This all means that at this rate, she’ll exhaust all the books I’ve ever liked in a few weeks. She got through Cold Comfort Farm in a couple of days while I’m rereading it and taking a fair bit longer. I love that book. Now she’s on to Oscar and Lucinda, which should hopefully take her longer. It’s such a beautiful, melancholy, frustrating but compelling book. Is it any coincidence that the films of these books are where I (in my own personal way) discovered Cate Blanchett and Kate Beckinsale? Sigh. That’s a connection I’ve only just made.

Actually, Marion read Anna Karenina at my suggestion in June, before we were (properly) together. Maybe she fancied me or something.

Also, yesterday I gave her my precious Gilmore Girls boxed DVD set saying she might enjoy watching it. This whole entry is actually an excuse for me to quote the message (absolutely verbatim) she sent me at 12:11am this morning:

Ha ha, I've just watched the first three episodes of Gilmore Girls, and my family now thinks both you and I are mad! :-) Hope tonight went well xoxoxoxoxoxox

Oh well, at least she likes me… even if her family will be calling the men in white coats next time I’m over.

 

Here’s an interesting entry I’ve been reading by .

This month    November    October    September     August     July     June    May    April    March    February

Overture - Finale

Cast
A big holiday
LXIV things
about me