Welcome
to my
Guestbook
(please sign!)
Notes
What is my
mood today?

Tomorrow?


03 February 2004 - 8:26 pm
 

Nice sleep-in with weird dreams this morning. Nothing unusual about that. When I got up I was tempted to fiddle more with my router which used to be a simple modem. Now my dedicated router is redundant which means I don't get extremely annoying 30-second dropouts every few minutes. After three months of these dropouts it’s a positive joy to be online all the time.

But I am so much more than an amateur router enthusiast. My room is overflowing with music as I am preparing to put on a big concert of my music (stuff I have composed) in March. Usually with composing music I’m so pleased to finish writing the piece (or thinking about the next piece) that I only push the music half-heartedly. And while a piece of music can have its own perfection sitting in my archives, it needs to be performed by other people for anyone else to appreciate it. Of course the involvement of other humans adds imperfections, but a composer can’t afford to be a perfectionist, especially if the choir is my friends singing for fun. And a good piece can make a powerful impression, even if performed at 90%. I do my best to make my music fun to perform and enjoyable to listen to, and if any of the pieces make an impression and hit critical mass they will be performed a lot.

I had a nice swim too. If I manage more swimming and less eating I will lose the couple of kilos I put on over summer. Seems so simple.

I think I’ll watch Moulin Rouge tonight. Go Baz!

 

Here’s an interesting entry I’ve been reading by .

This month    November    October    September     August     July     June    May    April    March    February

Overture - Finale

Cast
A big holiday
LXIV things
about me