Welcome
to my
Guestbook
(please sign!)
Notes
What is my
mood today?

Tomorrow?


17 May 2004 - 11:52 pm
 

Yesterday I finally did something proactive. On Saturday I saw an ad for a concert on Sunday by the orchestra the lovely Lucy plays with. I wondered whether I should go or not. I don’t see too many concerts because they remind me of being at work, which is a bit of a shame I suppose.

The first challenge was excusing myself early from Sunday lunch with Marion, Alex (the one I didn’t kiss), Rodger and a tenuous acquaintance of Lia, down in Melbourne for the weekend, brought to lunch by Alex. Being the appalling liar that I am, I tried the old trick of being evasive, so that I only had to volunteer information they actually asked for. Which, unfortunately, was everything. Excepting that I was going to this concert because it was a chance to see Lucy, whose phone number I had omitted to get the last time I saw her. So to them, I was going to a concert in deepest darkest suburbia no good reason. Rodger knows that Lucy plays with this orchestra, so may possibly join the dots.

The next challenge was to get to deepest darkest suburbia without exploding after two unexpected beers, and a waitress constantly refilling my tea. When I got off the tram I could hardly walk! Having fixed myself up I went in. Barney, the guy who was secretly married for four years, used to be in the orchestra, and was in the audience along with his mother (in case the music scene doesn’t seem tiny enough, Barney is Henry’s brother). I saw them each separately and answered the same question— I had heard this orchestra mentioned so many times and thought it would be good to go and see them for once.

Eventually the orchestra came out. If you think a girl’s sexy normally, wait until you see her playing the cello. Lucy has long hair, which is how cello players should look. I sat back on the overheated seat that was slowly cooking my bum, and tried to concentrate on the music without staring at Lucy or snoozing off.

At interval my bladder was chock-a-block again, so off I went again. I had to go backstage to get to the toilets, and wave an agonised hello to Lucy as I dashed off as gracefully as I could manage. All finished, I returned. Lucy was very pleased to see me and kept being awesomely gorgeous. We didn’t have long to chat as the interval was almost over. The second half was fairly good, although both Barney and Lucy said the orchestra was still recovering from having a lot of people leaving at the end of last year. The conductor also told long stories with the most tenuous connections to the music. After it was all over we chatted some more and I invited her to see a band on Friday. All without getting her number. Stupid me. She had a lot of family around, which made me a bit shy. On the bright side I know her last name now, so could probably guess her email address if it didn’t seem like a bad idea...

After that I took a architecturally critical walk through some rich suburbs. It’s amazing what you can do with a large housing budget and really good or really poor taste ☺ ☜ (look I can do real smilies! I knew there had to be some reason I’ve been persisting with Unicode). Besides me being a nerd, that is.

 

Here’s an interesting entry I’ve been reading by .

This month    November    October    September     August     July     June    May    April    March    February

Overture - Finale

Cast
A big holiday
LXIV things
about me