Welcome
to my
Guestbook
(please sign!)
Notes
What is my
mood today?

Tomorrow?


06 April 2004 - 9:16 pm
 

It’s been a couple of days of former crushes, flings and general blasts from the past. When I was singing in church on Sunday morning, I thought I noticed Sahra sitting up the back, but she was too far away for me to be sure. Indeed it was her... I had had a crush on her during most of first year at uni, all of second year and much of third year. In my first year of the music course there were only four flute players, something that I’m sure has not happened before or since. Sahra and I got to know each other in group flute lessons and general first-year things. I’m sure it was obvious to her that I was hopelessly smitten, and she handled it reasonably well I can see in hindsight. When my family went to her home town during the summer holidays I kept a very sharp eye out, and once I thought I saw her, but I knew I was probably imagining. There wasn’t much time to talk on Sunday, but she’s doing well.

On Sunday evening I sang with another choir because it was singing one of my pieces. That went fairly well, but we were waiting for the church to be available as there was another service on. In that choir was Alex... yes, the one I kissed a few weeks ago ;-) There wasn’t much time to talk to her either, but during the time we got to know each other at the party I must have omitted to mention I was a composer. Either that or she’d forgotten. Again we didn’t have much time to talk, but she’s doing well.

I sang next to Eden in the service, which has never happened before, so I got to find out for myself exactly how well she sings. Which was very well. After that service I returned to Henry’s 30th birthday do. I wouldn’t have expected Marion to be there but she was, which was nice. I’m looking for an opportunity to be alone with her in a setting that is in the tiniest bit romantic. It will happen. After she left, there was Henry (Latin scholar, Mac user), Gabriel (Mac salesman), Rodger (Unix freak) and myself (Mac user, Unix curious) left. And behold there were two hours of hardcore nerd talk. Carly (physiotherapist) came in to say goodnight and got drawn into the discussion/argument of the merits of graphics/colours vs. content in presentations. Gabriel said the brain is hard-wired to respond to colours, whereas Rodger says some of the most interesting talks he has seen have been with a speaker and a blackboard. I was feeling so lazy I took a taxi home.

I’m seeing Marion every day this week, singing in concerts and rehearsals. We had a nice lunch after a lunchtime concert on Monday, with Harry there too. Us three and two others sang a five part piece, and I heard Marion properly for the first time. She did significantly better than I might have thought, given her singing background in large choirs. It’s in small choirs where you learn proper tuning, phrasing and independence. Go Marion.

I thought I had today off from work, but I didn’t, which made running off to sing at another lunchtime concert somewhat trickier than yesterday. Attending this concert were Cecilia, a girl I hadn’t seen for ages and who is now a full solicitor (how time flies), and Claire, a girl I had a crush on years ago. We went and saw an exhibition of Florentine art etc, and I impressed her greatly knowing about manuscripts and being able to read Latin. Alas, in hindsight I can see it was never really going to happen. She was gorgeous and glamourous to the extent where anything serious with a poor musician (and a naïve one at that) was never going to happen. Once again there was no time to catch up so I don’t know what she is doing now. It’s been nice to think about all these people from the past though.

 

Here’s an interesting entry I’ve been reading by .

This month    November    October    September     August     July     June    May    April    March    February

Overture - Finale

Cast
A big holiday
LXIV things
about me