Welcome
to my
Guestbook
(please sign!)
Notes
What is my
mood today?

Tomorrow?


13 August 2004 - 8:32 pm
 

It is indeed a black day for Australia, as one commentator said. To legislate against gay marriage is what we would expect of the government’s Dubya Worshipping Homophobic Right Wing Nutjobs Party (aka. Liberal). But I never seriously thought the Spineless Right Wing Supposedly Alternative Party (aka Labor) would support it in the Senate. What the fuck were they thinking? The loathsome excuse of a homophobe whose single ambition is to get re-elected (please let me know if the link ever goes out of date) said “Please support the Government with this legislation. We don’t want it to be an election issue”, and the so-called Opposition kissed his arse and said “No worries, Johnny”.

So I’ve put my $60 where my mouth is and joined the Only People Who Consistently Oppose Immoral Legislation But Who Are Quite A Small Party Party. I can hardly believe it myself! And I can hardly imagine how I would feel if I were gay...

On a more positive note, I’m a good boyfriend: last night at farewell drinks for one of Marion’s friends going overseas I engaged her friends in (mostly interesting) conversation. It didn’t hurt that her friends were pretty and intelligent... but my triumph was being able to talk about sixteenth-century German wood carvings that one of them was studying for her thesis. As it turns out I had made the effort to visit the art collection at Ottobeuren Abbey in southern Germany seven years ago, and remember that some of the wood carvings were really striking. They were carvings of things like the Last Supper and the crucifixion, and the members of the crowd were each given their own unique expression that suited them perfectly. How’s that for getting into Marion’s friends’ good books?

I rang my dear Mum for her birthday this evening. I hadn’t yet joined a political party, so I had nothing to report on that front. But I did tell her about Marion. To say she was happy (if the very sharp intake of breath was any indication) would be an understatement. Luckily she knows that whatever plans for the wedding or grandchildren she may have, she has to behave herself when she meets Marion, which she’ll do, if with difficulty. That won’t be happening for a little while... perhaps at the airport when I leave the country next month. Hmmmm... I’ll have to prepare both parties for that.

 

Here’s an interesting entry I’ve been reading by .

This month    November    October    September     August     July     June    May    April    March    February

Overture - Finale

Cast
A big holiday
LXIV things
about me