Welcome
to my
Guestbook
(please sign!)
Notes
What is my
mood today?

Tomorrow?


25 April 2004 - 1:18 am
 

The internet’s down! So all I can do is type this in and post it later. I considered posting on Thursday, but nothing interesting at all had happened. Tonight, however, I saw the German play with Marion. I saw Saffron (the one that got married) on the train; she was in the play, so my going was a fait accompli, even though the play was performed in German. Marion was going because some of her German student colleagues were in it. But this was no cosy foreign-language-without-subtitles date...

Marion brought Birgit, her German friend, currently being a student teacher here in Melbourne. I normally get on very well with Germans, and this was no exception. The play was Die Brandstifter (the Fire Raisers) and was a mid-20th century comment on being weak and apathetic in the face of evil. I was pretty much able to guess what was going on much of the time and even got a couple of the jokes (I think). Anyway, when it finished, who should be in the foyer waiting to see Saffron, but Genevieve and her friend Ching-Lina. So Marion was talking to all her German buddies, Saffron was monopolised by her parents, and I was talking to Birgit and Genevieve. After I few minutes I remembered to introduce them, and they got on fine because they’re both studying teaching. Genevieve mentioned coffee, which was going to happen anyway, so in the end five of us went to Lygon Street for coffee, me eventually remembering to introduce everyone to each other. It was a little bit awkward at times, but Birgit was able to explain what the heck was going on in certain parts of the play, and the awkward silences weren’t too long for the most part. Genevieve of course was her usual tall, graceful, charming self, and Marion was sweet, although I forgot in front of everyone that she’s doing a law degree (as well as German history). Marion’s so not the lawyer type though. We had trouble explaining the Aussie slang word ‘dodgy’ to Birgit and the hot chocolate was wonderful.

Marion gave me a lift home which was very nice of her. I’ll be seeing her again in the morning, and maybe seeing Lucy in the evening. By which time I’m sure I won’t know what to think.

 

Here’s an interesting entry I’ve been reading by .

This month    November    October    September     August     July     June    May    April    March    February

Overture - Finale

Cast
A big holiday
LXIV things
about me