Welcome
to my
Guestbook
(please sign!)
Notes
What is my
mood today?

Tomorrow?


04 March 2004 - 11:34 pm
 

I was introduced to coffee lat(t)e in life when I was 27. Henry and I were in Vienna (as you do) and he convinced me to try a cappuccino. When I was accustomed to them he encouraged me to diversify, and I gradually settled on espresso as my coffee of choice. Since then I have learned the joy of sitting in cafés, that coffee is (in my opinion) as rich an epicurean field as wine, the benefits of caffeine for creative thought, and the effect of caffeine overdose! I can get a lot of work done when overdosed on caffeine early in the morning, but it’s all borrowed energy, which is not necessarily a bad thing if I get a lot of work done.

I used to think I was a caffeine junkie, with my penchant for a double espresso, until I read that brewed and instant coffee has just as much caffeine as a double espresso (this site is very interesting, but should be read with a healthy scepticism, being from the National Coffee Association). And I rarely have more than three coffees in a day, so I don’t know what I was worried about.

My favourite coffee places are Degraves Espresso in Melbourne where I can enjoy an impossibly creamy, fluffy espresso while watching my friends eat bacon and eggs. Once a year or so I apologise to my aorta and hoe in as well. The other place is Caffeine at RMIT in Swanston Street, run by an irrepressible guy called Salvatore. Salvatore doesn’t make espressos, he makes ‘expressos’, but very good ones, if occasionally running to triple or quadruple rather than double. He makes a point of hiring friendly staff, which makes it a nice place to be. In the back lounge it’s dark, pokey and perfect for contemplation. In the front it’s perfect for people-watching. (to be continued...)

 

Here’s an interesting entry I’ve been reading by .

This month    November    October    September     August     July     June    May    April    March    February

Overture - Finale

Cast
A big holiday
LXIV things
about me