Welcome
to my
Guestbook
(please sign!)
Notes
What is my
mood today?

Tomorrow?


03 February 2005 - 1:43 pm
 

Yesterday it rained. Not where the forecasters say ‘showers’, which is how precipitation usually happens in Melbourne, but rain, varying between medium-heavy and very heavy from before the crack of dawn until beyond 2am, when I was lying in bed unable to sleep and resenting the rain. It wasn’t an ideal day to be taking public transport anywhere, especially to a committee meeting in Blackburn (which is woop woop for a city-slicker like me). By sheer luck I managed to catch trains that weren’t cancelled. Everything was wet: the train floors, my doormat (the rain had discovered some novel leak above it), the seat on the bus, me after a couple of minutes outdoors. The laneway where I lived became a creek running into a large lake where it met the street, which had to be circumnavigated, along with the the other less common lake on the other side. To get back from the train station at 12:30am I also had to ford another completely new lake underneath the railway line.

As I lay in bed resenting the rain I thought to myself “Surely I’m being irrational... it’s just rain after all”. Imagine my feeling of justification on finding that not only was yesterday the coldest February day on record (12.6°C, 55°F), but also the wettest day ever. I’m not going crazy after all.

This morning was bright and sunny, with only cancelled trains and footpaths littered with debris from the huge storm last night to remind one of the day before. Apparently though, the big rainy system has travelled westward (which such systems never do), is turning around and preparing itself for a soggy encore performance.

In other news, this afternoon, the client is bringing a panel of people, undoubtedly all with differing and conflicting ideas. Yay.

PS When I said wettest day ever, I meant wettest day in Melbourne since records started in 1856. Undoubtedly some poor Aboriginies had an even more miserable day during the tens of thousands of years they’ve been around here. Wow, that would have been bad!

 

Here’s an interesting entry I’ve been reading by Molly.

This month    November    October    September     August     July     June    May    April    March    February

Overture - Finale

Cast
A big holiday
LXIV things
about me