Welcome
to my
Guestbook
(please sign!)
Notes
What is my
mood today?

Tomorrow?


08 March 2004 - 3:02 am
 

So much has happened... I’ll give you a conversation I heard on the train to Ballarat:

What Shall we do with the Drunken Sailor ringtone
“G’day... yeah I’m on the train to Ballarat... I’m going to Maryborough to drink alcohol... Yeah, it’s the Murphy family reunion..etc. etc.

That will do for yesterday which turned out to be a lot less interesting than today, which for practical purposes we’ll call Sunday. Although I was doing a concert in Ballarat with one of the choirs I’m in, which is doing a tour of Germany later this year. One of the altos pointed out that I’m the only straight single guy in the choir— hmmmm... what a responsibility :-)

I really need to do an update of my love-life, and then preferably a background as well, just so everything makes a little bit more sense. But I won’t, tonight.

Tonight Harry had his 30th birthday party. He called it his 23rd, but I can remember going to his 21st party in 1995 (sprung bad!). I was a little dubious about the party, having looked through the To: and CC: headers in the email and seen mostly gay guys therein. This was fair enough, but it looked as if the party was not going to be so exciting for me. Surprisingly I was wrong. At first I chatted to all the usual suspects: all my 30 year old friends who left early. Then I met some new people, which was also fun. One was Alex, who sings in a choir with Harry. We talked about all sorts of things, and she gave the impression of being a knowledgeable senior. She knew what the Anthropic Principle is, for goodness sake. So I was pretty surprised to find out that she’s only 18 (uh oh, where is this going...). She promised to go home with her friend who lives in the same suburb. As it turned out, the end of the party was me, her, and two other guys. Her friend had retired to Harry’s bedroom and she was waiting for him. We others were saying that seeing he was in there she shouldn’t have to wait for him, as there was no knowing how long he would be. She decided to go upstairs and check the situation, and I followed her, to make sure she didn’t embarrass anyone. When we got up there, our flirting turned to quiet (thanks to the open plan) kissing. This was excellent fun, but she wasn’t ready for anything more, so we let it rest. I’m always surprised at how easy it is to kiss someone in such circumstances, compared with how difficult I normally find it to get my nerve up. The very good reason she had for not taking it any further was that her boyfriend had broken up with her the day before— in hindsight maybe that makes many things clear. When we went down and called a cab, her friend emerged (complete with Harry later admitting he was not in a good mood) and off they went. Was this all a good or a bad thing? I’ll decide in the morning. But given that I last kissed anyone four months ago, I can’t help being just a little bit pleased.

 

Here’s an interesting entry I’ve been reading by .

This month    November    October    September     August     July     June    May    April    March    February

Overture - Finale

Cast
A big holiday
LXIV things
about me